Official Site of the Boston Men's Baseball League
"New England's Largest Adult Baseball League"

2017 Season is Officially Underway...

Posted: May 06, 2017 | Leave Comment

After a long winter, the 2017 season is officially underway.  While the winter was long for some, the league board members and team managers were hard at work planning for the 2017 season.   As a result, a few key changes were formulated across several divisions of the BMBL.   Let's break down those changes by division:


For the first time since 1998, the MABL has been reduced from two divisions to a single division consisting of eight teams.   The top six teams will qualify for the playoffs with the top two seeds receiving a first round bye.  Seeds 3-6 will be wild cards and seeded based on the most points earned during the season.
See MABL Rules


This is the third season for the MetroWest league since joining the BMBL back in 2015 and the merger has been a great success.   The league currently consists of eleven teams after the Northborough Athletics decided not to return for the 2017 season.
See MetroWest Rules

MSBL 28+

After much discussion, the American and National leagues were merged into one to make up the MSBL 28+ division.  The division consists of 14 teams after welcoming two new teams to the league; the South Shore Spartans and the Lexington Minutemen.  The 8-time champion Newton Red Sox merged with the Waltham Braves to become the Waltham Sox.  It was also decided that ALL games will consist of seven innings this year. In the past, day games were scheduled for nine innings.
See MSBL 28+ Rules

MSBL Masters

The MSBL Masters division will consist of eight teams in 2017. The 2016 runner-up Lawrence Pirates decided not to return for the 2017 season while the North Shore Chiefs were added as a new team.
See MSBL Masters Rules

Best of luck to all teams in 2017!